poetry prompt 31

for June 1, 2014

I’m trying to apologize, but I don’t know where to begin.

I’m scared if I try to feel the guilt I’ll end up caving in.

Just know that I’m truly sorry for any pain I’ve caused.

I didn’t mean to keep you out behind theses sky high walls.

The barriers I’ve built are not because of you,

It’s because of my past and the pain that as a child I went through.

I know that’s not your fault and you shouldn’t have to pay,

You deserve someone to love you and treat you the right way.

Make no mistake I love you, I just truly don’t know how,

Know I was not lying when I wrote and said my vows.

I want to give what you need and be everything you crave,

I’m scared to show my feelings but for you I must be brave.

Just teach me how to love you, it’s all I want to do,

I know I will try my best and to you I will stay true.

I know I’ve never loved another even close to this before,

I just don’t know how to show it but it’s coming from the core.

I can give you all of me you have my heart and soul,

Without you here I don’t exist, without you I’m not whole.

I will learn to love you better each and every day,

Be patient with me as I try our love will lead the way.

Leave a comment